Weekly running update: April 5 – April 11, 2020

Theme of the week:   I run my marathon anyway.

Runs:

Sunday, April 5 – Marathon

26.2 miles.  13:20 per mile.  Strides: 155 per min.  Heart rate: 142 bpm.  Temps: 40-45 deg F, drizzly.
Official “unofficial” marathon time: 5 hr 49 min 30 sec

I was scheduled to run a marathon on April 5th.  It had been cancelled weeks ago.  I had planned to go for the marathon distance sometime in April anyway, but I had quit long runs and marathon training mid-March.  On April 3 (two days before this run), I thought what the heck, why not do it on Sunday when I was supposed to run?

This was with zero tapering, no access to public bathrooms, water fountains, and I am still dealing with Lupron Depot side effects (currently 10-20 hot flashes all day every day, slight headaches, weird dizzy feeling most of the time, possibly bloating).  I don’t think Lupron Depot affects my running all that much, and by reversing my anemia it is actually improving my running. But I do not think it is a great idea to push myself while on this medication, and since I am currently in between two surgeries, and I had never intended to push myself hard on this marathon even if it was an actual event and not me just wandering around for almost 6 hours.  At least now I know I probably would have made the generous 7 hour cutoff at the actual event.

Before I get into any detail about the “event” – do I think a 6 hour run lowered my immunity?  Am I being selfish doing this?  I hope not.  My immune response to common seasonal allergens is “very strong”, this doesn’t mean I will also have a strong immune response to coronavirus, but my recovery to this long run was quite fast, my heart rate never was that high, so I think I am probably fine.  I definitely think my immune response is better now than it was December – February when I was experiencing my anemia issues, and by doing things that are normal for me (like running for 6 hours on a cold, rainy April Sunday), I feel more normal and it keeps my anxiety down.  My anxiety spiraling out of control causes a whole lot more stress on my body than this run did, and that definitely will lower my immune response.  It is all relative.  Luckily, I did not go anywhere or interact with any people for 72 hr after this, so even if my immune response was lowered, I hopefully did not encounter any viruses. Also, it was a cold, rainy day, and not surprisingly I encountered very few people over the entire 6 hours I was outside.

Ok, so if you’ve read the previous two marathon posts (Flying Pig 2019 and Air Force Marathon 2019), you will notice that I always have some sort of “crisis” before the race starts (midnight hotel fire alarms and traffic snafus), and this was no different.  My GPS watch, which I thought was entirely charged the night before, decided it was going to be only partly charged when I checked at 6:55am, about five minutes before I wanted to start my run.   I pushed my start time back by 20 minutes (to “Wave C”), but it still wasn’t fully charged.  So, at 7:20, I decided to test the battery limits of my phone using the Strava app (smart move!) in addition to my watch.  My watch made it all the way to 24.6 miles, which is about 10 more than I expected, but would have made it all the way had it been all the way charged.

I got going at 7:20am, and my body did not feel as fresh or springy as it normally does when I’ve been tapering for 2-3 weeks, and I have a feeling doing a 10 mile run 5 days before then 8 mile run 2 days before this runs was “not a good idea”.  Anyway, because my body was already kind of tired before I started this run, I did not push the speed at the beginning.  First 5 miles were all around an easy paced 12:00-12:30 per mile.  After that, things slowed down a lot.  Did I need to run through a park and end up with 900 ft gain?   Probably not.  Also, I kept checking my phone battery for the first couple hours because I was not entirely sure my phone running the Strava app would last as long as this run, and if there is any time I definitely need my phone to make an emergency call from would be a long run during the coronavirus shutdown.  After two hours battery was still above 80%, so I knew I was in good shape (phone battery-wise).

Watch battery died at 24.6 miles – it did so well for not being fully charged, but I am glad I had backup tracking going on.

By miles 15-16 I was feeling pretty tired, but kept going.  The last 6 miles were more of a slow shuffle than a run, but I did not stop to walk except when taking in fuel or water or just for a few seconds because I knew if I stopped for any longer period of time I would not be able to run after that.  Waiting for traffic lights, road crossings, etc. probably slowed me down by 5-6 minutes, and stopping to “empty my bladder” in the woods a couple of times probably added 3-4 minutes as well (climbing through thick undergrowth, etc.).  This is not something that normally happens on runs or races (never before this run), and I’m blaming Lupron Depot which makes me retain water and the cold weather for not sweating myself to dehydration in the first hour of the run like I do during hot races.  (The dehydration is not a strategy, but I’ve never had to go during a race and I think that is why).

Anyway, I did it.  I actually felt better during the “hard parts” of this run than I did during the “hard parts” of the past two marathons I’ve run, which in hindsight those marathons (as well as one in 2013) were all probably done while I was anemic and this one I was not.  I prefer not being anemic during a marathon. 

As always, whenever I do one of these and the last 6 miles is such a struggle, I think that I should do more 20 mile runs to prepare for a marathon (rather than just the one or two I get in a month or two before the race).

Ok, back to my watch… I have no idea how it made it to 24.6 miles on my watch because it was down to one very skinny bar by mile 15-16, and then just hung out there for a long, long time.  At mile 20, I realized my watch said 20 miles and Strava on my phone said 20.4 miles.  I knew my watch would die, so I decided I would just go until the Strava app made it to 26.7 miles.  Then, after 26.7 miles, I decided like the end of any good marathon, I would make myself walk for a bit after so didn’t stop the Strava app until 27.2 miles. There is a definite blip on Strava (where it says I set a new 400m time, 1K and 1 mile PR), so I think that is where some tracking issues happened. 

Monday, April 6 – Recovery run 1

4 miles.  14:02 per mile.  Strides: 152 per min.  Heart rate: 113 bpm.  Temps: 40s deg F, sunny.

Very easy paced recovery run.  My legs were sore and achy, which is expected after a very long run, but nothing felt injured or even DOMS.  Of special note, my right hip, which has been off and on achy since the D&C surgery in January, stopped hurting starting on this run and so far seems to have gone away for good.  Go figure.

I took it very, very easy on this run and making it all the way to 4 miles was not pleasant, but this was fine.

Tuesday, April 7 – Recovery run 2

5 miles.  12:50 per mile.  Strides: 154 per min.  Heart rate: 136 bpm.  Temps: 65 deg F, very sunny.

Very easy paced, hilly run.  My legs were feeling much better than yesterday, but still recovering. 

*I noted that my right hip feels better than it has in weeks.

This was a good effort.

Wednesday, April 8

5 miles.  12:14 per mile.  Strides: 159 per min.  Heart rate: 124 bpm.  Temps: 50s-60s deg F, sunny.

Easy paced run, I feel mostly recovered from marathon on Sunday (72 hr recovery time, not bad).  I was breaking in new shoes on this run, so just a little soreness and achiness.

Thursday, April 9

8 miles.  11:07 per mile.  Strides: 164 per min.  Heart rate: 141 bpm.  Temps: 40s-50s deg F, sunny, very windy.

Easy paced, hilly (423 ft) run, with 10 strides in the last mile.  My legs feel recovered from Sunday’s marathon.  It was very windy, but also sunny and I was feeling great on this run.  I listened to music for the first time on this run since maybe October???  (I tend to listen to podcasts most of the time, and only music when I am feeling less anxiety than normal).  Feeling hopeful, flowers are blooming, trees are flowering.  This was a great run.

Friday, April 10 – Golf course run

8 miles.  12:15 per mile.  Strides: 160 per min.  Heart rate: 144 bpm.  Temps: 30s deg F, windy.

I found out Thursday night that the golf course was now open to walkers and runners (and closed to golfers).  So of course the next morning I was all over it.  The 1st 9 holes were part paved, part gravel paths.  I ran about a half mile on the gravel before deciding it was tearing up my brand new shoes (2nd run) so I switched to grass.

2nd half was all paved, very hilly, and I did it forwards and back.  Not too many people (two people walking, 6-7 groundskeepers), but it was a very cold and windy day.  Lots of fun!

Part of my golf course run. It was as much fun as I thought it would be!

Saturday, April 11

6.2 miles.  11:55 per mile.  Strides: 162 per min.  Heart rate: 141 bpm.  Temps: 40s deg F.

Easy paced run.  I spent the first 3 miles trying to figure out how to sneak back on to the golf course from my current running route streets.  A viable path exists, but it is between two residential houses and everyone was out gardening on Saturday, so I will wait for another wet/windy/cold day and do it then.  Anyway, I ended up driving back to the course and doing the bottom 9 holes again because running on a golf course is fun.  Good effort.

My legs feel like maybe too many hills the past few days. Also, why two 8 mile runs in a row 4 and 5 days after the marathon? Why did I do that?

Running wrap-up

1.) I ran a marathon on Sunday.  Running a marathon with no support and no other people is not nearly as much fun as at an actual event, but at least I got in a very long run and got to push my limits.

2.)  I did two active recovery days and so far that seems to work for me.  In the past (2012-2013), I could barely walk for three days after the marathon, so I feel like I am recovering better these days.

3.) Distance is very good.   Slow marathon and recovery days have slowed my average speed down this week, but honestly my running is better than it has been in months and my running heart rate is doing so well lately.   Lots to be happy about now, running related.  (Coronavirus is ongoing, and I’m dealing with serious health issues, so I will take happiness where I can find it.)

4.)  I found out on Monday (April 13th) that my fibroid surgery which was supposed to be in May is in fact postponed until elective surgeries are allowed again (apparently my uterus does not count as life or limb), and that I will need to continue taking the very expensive drug that my insurance refuses to cover.  I’m currently trying my best to get a prescription filled for delivery at a cheaper cost (I’ve already paid about 1450×3 months, I refuse to keep doing that).  Lupron Depot acquisition is my living nightmare that will not end, it is the most stressful thing that I have dealt with in March and April. (I thought my April 13th injection was my last dose.)

I am not thrilled about delaying the surgery because Lupron Depot carries the serious risk of osteoporosis which only increases the longer I am on it.  I don’t want anyone to have bone issues due to this medication, but I especially don’t want me to have lifelong bone issues because coronavirus delayed the surgery that I definitely need.  (I need to stay on the medication up until surgery or the fibroid will grow back if it has shrunk, and I risk bleeding more during surgery and preventing complete removal of the fibroid if I am not on it).  It’s not good, but there is nothing I can really do to change the situation.  Maximum allowable time on the medication is 6 months, so if I can’t have my surgery by August, I am in a pickle.

And, once again, I have a feeling ultra-low estrogen levels due to Lupron Depot treatment is really helping to keep my anxiety low during this very stressful time period and I can be thankful for that.

*One day after writing this  (April 16), and now Ohio is talking about allowing some elective surgeries again soon.  I will still try to get one month dose (if I can get it for cheap), but I am feeling more relaxed about this now.  I am very proud of myself for not stressing too much about this because I definitely cannot control if and when this surgery ban will be lifted.

I disagree with my governor on most of his politics, and I cannot believe how well he has been doing in Ohio during this Coronavirus pandemic.  When other people are talking about lessening the stay at home order and when can they go to sporting events, he’s talking about getting people who need surgeries back to surgery, which is great for me to hear.  I wish more conservative governors had as much interest in doing everything possible to save their constituents lives.

5.)  Weight is slightly down from last week.  This is fine.  Again, I have no idea what part of my weight increase is from the Lupron Depot and bloating, what is fat gain, what is muscle inflammation from lifting weights more… I’m going to try to just not worry about weight until after the next fibroid surgery.

Total walking + running miles this week (April 5 – April 12): 68.67 miles (up 5.74 from last week)

Total steps this week (April 5 – April 12): 136,870 steps (up 18,790 from last week)

Average steps per day (April 5 – April 12): 19,552 steps (up 2,684 from last week)

Total running miles this week (April 5 – April 12): 62.76 miles (up 8.42 from last week)

Average running speed this week (not including hill repeats)( April 5 – April 12): 12:40 min/mile. (1 min 18 sec per mile slower than last week)

Average resting heart rate this week (April 5 – April 12): 58 bpm (4 bpm up from last week)

My guess is my body really was not ready for two 8 mile runs in a row 4 and 5 days after the marathon.

Elevation gain this week (April 5 – April 12): 2,629 ft. (up 389 ft from last week)

Total walking + running miles this year (2020):  855.47 miles

Total steps this year (2020):  1,660,094 steps

Average steps per day (2020): 16,117 steps

Total running miles this year (2020): 687.96 miles

Average running mileage per week (2020): 46.75 miles

Average running speed this year (2020): 11:43 per mile

Average resting heart rate this year (2020): 61 bpm

Elevation gain this year (2020): 26,643 ft

Current thyroid medication: 150 mcg/day levothyroxine + 5 mcg x 2 times a day liothyronine. Started on Aug. 16, 2019.

Weight, weight fluctuate

Weight: 156.8 lb (down 0.4 lb from last week).

Weight January 1, 2020: 151.0 lb

Weight change since Jan 1, 2020: +5.8 lb

Previous week:  March 29 – April 4, 2020

Next week:  April 12– April 18, 2020

What sheep are these sheep? I have no idea, but these sheep certainly cheered me up at 16 miles in to my marathon. I also did not realize that the cow is not a real cow until after I get home, so I’m pretty sure fuzzy long run thinking was already going on by this point.

Also, now that I know these sheep exist, I am going to try to run by them more often, although this is about 7 miles away, so I guess I have some more long runs in my fututre.

6 comments

Leave a comment